Tuesday, June 21, 2016

On this day in 1788, New Hampshire became the ninth state to ratify the Constitution of the United States, making the document the law of the land.

The Constitution of the United States was drafted on September 17, 1787 three months after 41 delegates convened at Independence Hall in Philadelphia.

On December 7, 1787, five states including Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, and Connecticut ratified the Constitution. However, many states were still leery of the plan. They were only convinced once the promise to reserve undelegated powers was granted to the states along with constitutional protections for freedom of speech, religion, and the press. This compromise made up the Bill of Rights.

Massachusetts ratified the Constitution in February of 1788. They were followed by Maryland and South Carolina. Finally, New Hampshire ratified the document on June 21st. They were followed by Virginia and New York.

Learn more about ratification:

North Carolina ratified the Constitution in 1789 and then Rhode Island, by two votes, ratified the document in 1790.

The U.S. Constitution is the oldest written constitution currently in operation in the world.

Share if you SUPPORT the Constitution and are Proud to be an AMERICAN!

H/T: History

Leave a comment...

Want more stuff like this?

Add your email and your name and we'll send you the most interesting stories we get our hands on!


Sign-up with Facebook

By submitting above you agree to the TellMeNow privacy policy.